When Is A New Jersey Estate Tax Return Required?
On behalf of David Whitlock at Whitlock Canter LLC
Beginning on January 1, 2017, a New Jersey Estate Tax Return is required when the gross estate plus prior taxable gifts are in excess of $2 million. Prior to that date, gross estates plus prior taxable gifts in excess of $675,000 were subject to state estate taxation. Additionally, no estate taxes will be assessed against the estate of a New Jerseyan who dies on or after January 1, 2018.
Even though a spouse can pass an unlimited amount to his or her spouse during life or at death, the assets left to a spouse at death do count as part of the gross estate and can thereby necessitate the filing of a New Jersey estate tax return even when all assets are left to a surviving spouse.
Consult an experienced tax law attorney for more details.
The New Jersey Estate Tax Return is due within 9 months of the date of death.